Document ReferenceUAF
TitleArchive of the University of Nottingham Faculties; 1940s-2010s
Access ConditionsAccess conditions for particular files are detailed in the catalogue records. Some files contain information on individual students and staff. Access to staff and student records under 80 years old is restricted under current Data Protection legislation. Some minutes may also be closed for a period of time. Please see our Access Policy or contact us for further advice.
Admin HistoryThe University of Nottingham was founded in 1881 as University College Nottingham and became a full university in 1948. From the beginning the academic structure of the university has been based on faculties. In 1948 there were five faculties, Arts, Pure Science, Applied Science, Agriculture and Horticulture, and Education. All of these, apart from Education, were inherited from the University College. A new Faculty of Law and Social Sciences was established in 1958. The name and composition of the faculties has changed a number of times throughout the university's history. As of 2017 there are five faculties, Arts, Engineering, Medicine and Health Sciences, Science, and Social Sciences. Each faculty encompasses a number of smaller departments. In some faculties, departments are grouped together into schools.

Each faculty is chaired by a Dean and has an Academic/Faculty Board with responsibility for overseeing the academic business of the faculty. The Faculty Board reports to the Senate of the University. Initially membership of the Faculty Board was restricted to the Dean, the professors, readers, and those lecturers who were in charge of subjects taught in the faculty, together with a small number of other academic staff who were elected by the faculty. Each board had responsibility for the teaching and examining of the subjects offered by the departments which made up the faculty. The growth in size of the University led to a growth in size and responsibility of the Faculty Boards. From 1963 up until July 2010 membership of each Faculty Board consisted of the Vice-Chancellor, one Pro-Vice-Chancellor, the Dean and Vice-Dean of the faculty, the Professors, Readers, Senior Lecturers and Lecturers in the departments within the faculty and up to 10 persons co-opted by the Faculty Board. The boards had the power to regulate the teaching of the subjects assigned to the faculty, to nominate examiners, to make recommendations for the award of degrees, and to deal with any matters referred to it by the Senate. From July 2010 Faculty Boards were renamed Academic Boards. The membership and constitution of each Academic Board is determined by the Teaching and Learning Board of the University.
DescriptionFew faculties have deposited any significant quantity of records in the University's archive. The only faculty at present which has deposited anything approaching a full archive is the Faculty of Medicine. The Medical School at Nottingham was opened in 1970 and there are an extensive number of files concerning the planning, governance and administration of the faculty up to the 1990s, with a limited amount of material from after that period. For other faculties, some Faculty Board minutes are present. Records will be added to the online catalogue as and when their cataloguing has been completed.
MgtGroupUniversity archives
MgtSubGroupAcademic Departments
ArrangementThe records of each faculty have been catalogued separately, as set out below. Within each faculty, the records have been arranged primarily by function. The main series of records include administration, governance, planning papers, historical material, teaching and learning, and published material. Not all of these series are necessarily present for each faculty. Records will be added to the online catalogue as and when their cataloguing has been completed.

Faculty of Medicine (University of Nottingham Medical School) (UAF1)
Faculty of Law and Social Sciences (UAF2)
Faculty of Arts (UAF3)
Faculty of Education (UAF4)
Faculty of Agricultural Sciences (UAF5)
Faculty of Pure Science (UAF6)
Faculty of Applied Science (UAF7)
ReprodnNoteReprographic copies can be supplied for educational and private study purposes only, depending on access status and the condition of the documents.
Add to My Items