Document ReferenceOs C 67
TitleLetter from [D. Ryder], Viscount Sandon, [later 2nd Earl of Harrowby], Torquay, Devon, to J.E. Denison; 22 Jan. 1829
Date22 January 1829
Extent5 ff
Content DescriptionComments on inadequacies of postal system; reflects on Wellington's support for Catholic Question and problems caused by his stance; believes Wellington must lose Peel and Goulburn in reconstructing the Cabinet; comments in detail on political waring between Whigs, Tories and Canningites and difficulties of creating any union between groups; believes Wellington is influenced politically by 'personal feelings' especially with regard to expulsions and he must press forward on Catholic Question; reflects on his party beliefs and describes group as 'half a dozen men without a leader'; considers attributes of various political figures for leader such as Charles and Robert Grant, Palmerston, Charles Wynne, and William Bourne; hopes for support from named county members.
Termpostal service
religious affairs, Roman Catholic emancipation
political parties, Whigs
political parties, Canningites
political parties, Tories
governments, Wellington Ministry 1829
religious affairs, Catholic Question
government departments, Cabinet
parliamentary business, divisions

Click the links below to view related name indexes

CodePersonNameDates of existence
NA6019Wellesley; Arthur (1769-1852); 1st Duke of Wellington1769-1852
NA1860Peel; Robert (1788-1850); 2nd Baronet; Prime Minister 1841-18461788-1850
NA9639Goulburn; Henry (1784-1856); Mr; statesman1784-1856
NA9468Huskisson; William (1770-1830); Mr; statesman1770-1830
NA9640Wynn; Charles Watkin Williams (1775-1850); Sir; statesman1775-1850
NA143Temple; Henry John (1784-1865); 3rd Viscount Palmerston; succ. 1802; statesman; Prime Minster 1855-1858 and 1859-18651784-1865
NA9637Grant; Charles (1778-1866); Baron Glenelg; created baron 18351778-1866
NA9641Bourne; William Sturges- (1769-1845); Mr; politician1769-1845
NA9523Paget; Charles (1799-1873); Mr; M.P. for Ruddington Nottinghamshire 1856-651799-1873
NA6068Lamb; H. William (1779-1848); 2nd Viscount Melbourne; M.P., Home Secretary 1830-4, P.M. 1834 and 1835-411779-1848
NA9642Lyttelton; William Henry (1782-1837); 3rd Baron Lyttelton; 3rd Baron Lyttelton of 2nd creation; succ. 18281782-1837
NA9446Littleton; Edward J. (1791-1863); 1st Baron Hatherton1791-1863
NA9643Liddell; Henry T. (1797-1878); 1st Earl Ravensworth1797-1878
NA6026Grey; Charles (1764-1845); 2nd Earl Grey1764-1845
NA9638Mackenzie; John Stuart-Wortley- (1801-1855); 2nd Baron Wharncliffe; succeeded 18451801-1855
NA9644Percy; Hugh (1785-1847); 3rd Duke of Northumberland; succeeded 1817 Lord Lieutenant of Ireland 1829-301785-1847
NA9645Acland; Thomas Dyke (1787-1871); 10th Baronet; M.P. succeeded 17941787-1871
NA9480Ryder; Dudley (1798-1882); 2nd Earl of Harrowby; styled Viscount Sandon 1809-18471798-1882
NA199Denison; J. Evelyn (1800-1873); 1st Viscount Ossington; M.P. Speaker of House of Commons 1857-72 created Viscount Ossington 18721800-1873
Add to My Items