Document ReferenceLa B 56
TitlePostcard from D.H. Lawrence, Fern Villa, Carter Road, Shanklin, Isle of Wight to Louie Burrows, c o Mrs Stewart, 44 Nelson St, Barrow-in-Furness; [2 Aug. 1909]
Date2 August 1909
Extent1 f
Content DescriptionWrites while on a trip across the cliffs to Ventnor; describes the display of warships out at sea; send regards to Nina [Nina Stewart]; enquires why she should want to copy the 'Cupid' [short story 'Cupid and the Puppy']; signed 'D.H.L.'

Bears a green half-penny stamp, postmarked in Ventnor at 8pm, 2 Aug 1909.

Verso bears black and white photograph of the bay at Shanklin, Isle of Wight, one of the Valentine's series of postcards.
Termliterature, prose, 'Cupid and the Puppy'
ReprodnNoteUniversity of Nottingham.
Physical DescriptionWritten in dark ink, the last couple of lines being squeezed into the top left corner of the card; the dimensions are 89 x 138 mm.
Related MaterialLa B 243/4/14; typed transcript of this letter made by Louie Burrows.
Related RecordLa/B/224-244/243
Publication NoteJames T. Boulton, ed. 'Lawrence in Love' (Nottingham: University of Nottingham, 1968) p 40
James T. Boulton, ed. 'The Letters of D.H. Lawrence' (Cambridge: Cambridge University Press, 1979) vol I, p 133

Click the links below to view related name indexes

CodePersonNameDates of existence
NA74613Stewart; Nina (1886-); student at University College Nottingham 1906- 19081886-
NA42Lawrence; D.H. (1885-1930); David Herbert; writer1885-1930
NA366Burrows; Louisa (1888-1962); known as 'Louie'; married Frederick Heath 19411888-1962
Add to My Items