Document ReferenceLa B 52
TitlePostcard from D.H. Lawrence, Addiscombe, Croydon, Surrey to Louie Burrows, The Lodge, Ratcliffe on Wreake, Leicester; 22 Jun. 1909
Date22 June 1909
Extent1 f
Content DescriptionIs unable to write at present: 'time is barren, and my wits are sterile'; is disappointed that she is unable to go to Shanklin, Isle of Wight; asks about her work at school; reports that some 'malicious fiend' has taken his drawings; signed 'D.H.L.'

The verso of the card is plain, addressed to Miss Louie Burrows at The Lodge, Ratcliffe on Wreake, Leicester. Bears a green half-penny stamp, postmarked in Croydon at 8.45pm, 22 June 1909.
Termoccupations and professions, schoolteacher
ReprodnNoteUniversity of Nottingham.
Physical DescriptionWritten in dark ink, down the length of the recto of the card, the dimensions are 113 x 88 mm.
Related MaterialLa B 243/4/10; typed transcript of this letter made by Louie Burrows.
Related RecordLa/B/224-244/243
Publication NoteJames T. Boulton, ed. 'Lawrence in Love' (Nottingham: University of Nottingham, 1968) pp 33-34
James T. Boulton, ed. 'The Letters of D.H. Lawrence' (Cambridge: Cambridge University Press, 1979) vol I, p 129

Click the links below to view related name indexes

Click the links below to view related place indexes

CodePersonNameDates of existence
NA42Lawrence; D.H. (1885-1930); David Herbert; writer1885-1930
NA366Burrows; Louisa (1888-1962); known as 'Louie'; married Frederick Heath 19411888-1962
PL98793/Shanklin/Isle of Wight/England
Add to My Items