Document ReferenceLa B 122
TitleLetter from D.H. Lawrence, 12 Colworth Road, Addiscombe, Croydon, Surrey to Louie Burrows; 4 Jul. 1911
Date4 July 1911
Extent4 ff
Content DescriptionAddresses her as 'My dear Lou'; refers to her imminent change of job; reports that the Halls are wanting to go to Barmouth, whilst he has organised the accommodation for their holiday in Pwllheli [Wales]; advises her to make her school managers give her some 'words of certitude'; mentions seeing the opera Bohème [La Bohème by Giacomo Puccini, 1858-1924]; has been working well on 'Paul' [Paul Morel]; wishes that 'something new would happen'; advises her not to become thin as 'I like you to be fat'; reports that the English ['English Review'] have not paid him; mentions that he has insured his father [John Arthur Lawrence]; signed 'D.H. Lawrence'.
Termmusic, opera, 'La Bohème'
holidays, arrangements
literature, prose, D.H. Lawrence 'Paul Morel'
publications, novels, D.H. Lawrence 'Sons and Lovers'
ReprodnNoteUniversity of Nottingham.
Physical DescriptionWritten in dark ink on two separate folded sheets of plain white paper; the text following the sequence: ff 1r, 2r, 1v, 2v, 3r, 4r, 3v, 4v; ff 1r & 3r have narrow black borders; the dimensions are 177 x 114 mm; one horizontal fold in the paper.
Related MaterialLa B 243/14/1; typed transcript of this letter made by Louie Burrows.
Related RecordLa/B/224-244/243
Publication NoteJames T. Boulton, ed. 'Lawrence in Love' (Nottingham: University of Nottingham, 1968) pp 116-17
James T. Boulton, ed. 'The Letters of D.H. Lawrence' (Cambridge: Cambridge University Press, 1979) vol I, pp 280-81

Click the links below to view related name indexes

CodePersonNameDates of existence
NA74614Lawrence; Arthur John (1846-1924); father of D.H. Lawrence1846-1924
NA42Lawrence; D.H. (1885-1930); David Herbert; writer1885-1930
NA366Burrows; Louisa (1888-1962); known as 'Louie'; married Frederick Heath 19411888-1962
Add to My Items