Document ReferenceLa Ac 1/1/39
TitleLetter from D.H. Lawrence, Florence, Italy to Gertrude Cooper; 26 Sep. 1920
Date26 September 1920
Extent1 f
Content DescriptionAddresses her as 'My dear G'; sends her a little purse made from stamped leather; reports that he is still staying alone in a villa which Rosalind used to have, but she left because the windows were blown out by an explosion in a gunpowder factory; thinks he will go to Venice again on Tuesday - Juta and Insole are there at the moment; Frieda wants him to go to Baden Baden, but he'd rather wait until spring; requests that she write to him, and provides a forwarding address; informs her that they will probably stay in Venice for 8 days, then go to Rome for a 2 days, then go onto Taormina; asks if she had a good time at Hove; wonders how Ada is, and why she can't come to Italy for the winter; enquires about the picture he sent Ada from Alinaris.
Termtravel, Italy
travel, D.H. Lawrence
accidents, gunpowder
Physical DescriptionWritten in ink on both sides of a sheet of flimsy cream paper; dimensions are 205 x 132 mm.
Publication NoteJames T. Boulton and Andrew Robertson, eds. 'The Letters of D.H. Lawrence' (Cambridge: Cambridge University Press, 1984) vol III, pp 603.

Click the links below to view related name indexes

Click the links below to view related place indexes

CodePersonNameDates of existence
NA42Lawrence; D.H. (1885-1930); David Herbert; writer1885-1930
NA74593Cooper; Gertrude (1885-1942); known as 'Gertie' or 'Grit'; childhood friend of D.H. Lawrence1885-1942
NA169Lawrence; Frieda (1879-1956); née von Richthofen; married Ernest Weekley 1899 D.H. Lawrence 1914 Antonio Ravagli 19501879-1956
NA5438Juta; Jan (1897-); South African painter1897-
NA74693Insole; Alan (fl 1920-1921); Welsh painter and writerfl 1920-1921
NA371Baynes; Rosalind (1891-1973); wife of Helton Goodwin Baynes1891-1973
NA77515Fratelli Alinari; 1852-; photographic firm1852-
NA368Clarke; Ada (1887-1948); Mrs; married W.E. Clarke 1913; sister of D.H. Lawrence1887-1948
Add to My Items