Document ReferenceCC C 3/2
TitleLetter from D.H. Lawrence, c/o Mrs W.E. Clarke, Ripley, near Derby to Gordon Macfarlane; Tuesday [13 Oct. 1925]
Date13 October 1925
Extent1 f
Access ConditionsUse of original restricted; surrogate copy available.
Content DescriptionAddresses him 'Dear Gordon Macfarlane'; Catherine [Carswell] gave him 'the Natural Man' [by Gordon Macfarlane] and he thinks it 'extremely good of the war'; asks if he and Frieda can stay in his Gower St. flat next week for seven nights, before Paris; sends greetings from Frieda and his own to Mrs Macfarlane; adds a postscript that they will pay rent; he didn't know Macfarlane had a book out and asks if it is out in America; signed 'D.H. Lawrence'.

CC C 3/5 is a TS copy of this letter.

Date: the letter is undated, the TS copy has been annotated wrongly '[1926. October]'; see Boulton, 'The Letters of D.H. Lawrence', vol V, p 316, the letter is dated 13 October 1925.
Termpublications, novels, George MacFarlane 'Natural Man'
accommodation, D.H. Lawrence
Physical DescriptionWritten in dark ink on both sides of a single folio of unlined paper; dimensions are 200 x 125 mm; one horizontal fold in the paper.
Publication NoteJames T. Boulton and Lindeth Vasey, eds. 'The Letters of D.H. Lawrence' (Cambridge: Cambridge University Press, 1989) vol V, pp 316-17

Click the links below to view related name indexes

CodePersonNameDates of existence
NA42Lawrence; D.H. (1885-1930); David Herbert; writer1885-1930
NA170MacFarlane; George Gordon (1885-1949); brother of Catherine Carswell; architect and writer1885-1949
Add to My Items