Document ReferenceUAD
TitleArchive of the University of Nottingham Departments and Schools; 1930s-2010s
Access ConditionsAccess conditions for particular files are detailed in the catalogue records. Some files contain information on individual students and staff. Access to staff and student records under 80 years old is restricted under current Data Protection legislation. Some minutes may also be closed for a period of time. Please see our Access Policy or contact us for further advice.
Admin HistoryThe University of Nottingham was founded in 1881 as University College Nottingham and became a full university in 1948. From the beginning the academic structure of the university has been based on faculties. In 1948 there were five faculties, Arts, Pure Science, Applied Science, Agriculture and Horticulture, and Education. All of these, apart from Education, were inherited from the University College. A new Faculty of Law and Social Sciences was established in 1958. The name and composition of the faculties has changed a number of times throughout the university's history. As of 2017 there are five faculties, Arts, Engineering, Medicine and Health Sciences, Science, and Social Sciences. Each faculty encompasses a number of smaller departments. In some faculties, departments are grouped together into schools.
DescriptionMany departmental records have not yet been catalogued, and are not yet available for consultation. Records will be added to the online catalogue as and when their cataloguing has been completed.
MgtGroupUniversity archives
MgtSubGroupAcademic Departments
ArrangementThe records of each department or school have been catalogued separately, as set out below. Within each department or school, the records have been arranged primarily by function. The main series of records include teaching and learning, published material, historical material, administration, and building plans. Not all of these series are necessarily present for each department or school. Records will be added to the online catalogue as and when their cataloguing has been completed.

Department of Nursing (UAD1)
Department of Adult Education (UAD2)
Department of Theology (UAD3)
Department of English (UAD4)
Department of Fine Art (UAD5)
Department of History (UAD6)
School of Veterinary Medicine and Science (UAD7)
Department of Mining Engineering (UAD8)
Department of Music (UAD9)
Department of Pharmacy (UAD10)
Department of Physics (UAD11)
School of Biological Sciences (UAD12)
Department of Chemistry (UAD13)
School of Computer Science (UAD14)
Department of Geography (UAD15)
Department of Hispanic Studies (UAD16)
Department of Linguistics (UAD17)
School of Mathematical Sciences (UAD18)
Department of Metallurgy and Materials (UAD19)
Department of Politics and International Relations (UAD20)
Department of Slavonic Studies (UAD21)
Department of Social Administration and Social Work (UAD22)
Department of Chemical Engineering (UAD23)
Department of German (UAD24)
Department of Industrial Economics, Accountancy and Insurance (UAD25)
Department of Law (UAD26)
Department of Mechanical Engineering (UAD27)
School of Management and Finance (UAD28)
School of Social Studies (UAD29)
Department of Archaeology (UAD30)
Department of American and Canadian Studies (UAD31)
Culture, Film and Media (UAD32)
Department of Modern Languages and Cultures (UAD33)
School of Cultures, Languages and Area Studies (UAD34)
School of Health Sciences (UAD35)
ReprodnNoteReprographic copies can be supplied for educational and private study purposes only, depending on access status and the condition of the documents.
Add to My Items