Document ReferenceAN/A 82/1
TitleFair copy Register of Office (Correction) causes, December 1772 - February 1796; and of appointments of parish clerks and clerical proctors, up to February 1835.
Date Of Creation1772-1835
Extent272 ff plus covers
LevelItem/file
Content DescriptionHardbacked bound volume with parchment cover. 'Correction Book beginning 15 December 1772' written on front cover.

The last entry concerning summary jurisdiction against a lay person appears in February 1796. From May 1797 onwards, the entries record only the opening and adjourning of each court session, and the election of proctors to represent the clergy at Convocation meetings at York. From 1818, the Registrar ceased to record the dates of the courts in which no business was transacted.

Foliated by Manuscripts staff.

(f 1r)
Tuesday 15 December 1772. St Peter's Church, Nottingham.
Office causes, Nottingham and Bingham deaneries.

(ff 1v-2r)
Tuesday 19 January 1773. St Peter's Church, Nottingham; and 29 May, 5 June and 28 August, personally before the Official.
Office causes, Nottingham and Bingham deaneries.

(ff 2r-2v)
Tuesday 28 September 1773. St Peter's Church, Nottingham; and 11 October, personally before the Official.
Office causes, Nottingham and Bingham deaneries.

(f 3r)
Tuesday 9 November 1773. St Peter's Church, Nottingham; and 4 December, personally before the Official.
Office causes, Nottingham and Bingham deaneries.

(f 3v)
Tuesday 14 December 1773. St Peter's Church, Nottingham.
Office causes, Nottingham and Bingham deaneries.

(f 4r)
Tuesday 18 January 1774. St Peter's Church, Nottingham.
Office causes, Nottingham and Bingham deaneries.

(f 4v)
Tuesday 22 February 1774. St Peter's Church, Nottingham.
Office causes, Nottingham and Bingham deaneries.

27 April 1774.
One Office cause, Retford deanery.

(ff 5r-5v)
Tuesday 5 July 1774. St Peter's Church, Nottingham.
Office causes, Nottingham, Bingham and Retford deaneries.

(f 5v)
Tuesday 27 September 1774. St Peter's Church, Nottingham.
Office causes, Nottingham, Bingham and Retford deaneries.

(f 6r)
Tuesday 29 November 1774. St Peter's Church, Nottingham.
Office causes, Nottingham, Bingham and Retford deaneries.

(ff 6r-6v)
Tuesday 17 January 1775. St Peter's Church, Nottingham.
Office causes, Nottingham, Bingham and Retford deaneries.

[unexplained gap in record]

(ff 6v-9r)
Tuesday 2 July 1776. St Peter's Church, Nottingham; and 31 August, in the Registrar's Office in Nottingham.
Office causes, all deaneries.

(ff 9r-10v)
Tuesday 8 October 1776. St Peter's Church, Nottingham.
Office causes, all deaneries.

(ff 11r-12r)
Tuesday 12 November 1776. St Peter's Church, Nottingham.
Office causes, all deaneries.

(ff 12r-13v)
Tuesday 10 December 1776. St Peter's Church, Nottingham.
Office causes, all deaneries.

(ff 13v-15r)
Tuesday 21 January 1777. St Peter's Church, Nottingham.
Office causes, all deaneries.

(ff 15r-16r)
Tuesday 18 February 1777. St Peter's Church, Nottingham.
Office causes, all deaneries.

(ff 16r-16v)
Tuesday 18 March 1777. St Peter's Church, Nottingham.
Office causes, all deaneries.

[gap caused by Inhibition during the Archbishop's Visitation]

(ff 17r-17v)
Tuesday 5 December 1777. St Peter's Church, Nottingham.
Office causes, all deaneries.

(ff 17v-18r)
Tuesday 3 February 1778. St Peter's Church, Nottingham.
Office causes, all deaneries.

(f 18v)
Tuesday 31 March 1778. St Peter's Church, Nottingham.
Office causes, Nottingham and Bingham deaneries.

(ff 18v-19r)
Tuesday 19 May 1778. St Peter's Church, Nottingham.
Office causes, Nottingham and Bingham deaneries.

(f 19r)
Tuesday 30 June 1778. St Peter's Church, Nottingham.
One Office cause, Bingham deanery.

(ff 19v-20v)
Tuesday 28 July 1778. St Peter's Church, Nottingham.
Office causes, all deaneries.

(ff 20v-22r)
Tuesday 27 October 1778. St Peter's Church, Nottingham.
Office causes, all deaneries.

(ff 22r-23r)
Tuesday 1 December 1778. St Peter's Church, Nottingham.
Office causes, all deaneries.

(ff 23r-23v)
Tuesday 2 February 1779. St Peter's Church, Nottingham.
Office causes, all deaneries.

(ff 24r-25r)
Tuesday 15 June 1779. St Peter's Church, Nottingham.
Office causes, Nottingham, Bingham and Retford deaneries.

(f 25r)
Tuesday 20 July 1779. St Peter's Church, Nottingham.
Office causes, Nottingham, Bingham and Retford deaneries.

(f 25v)
Tuesday 5 October 1779. St Peter's Church, Nottingham.
Office causes, Nottingham, Bingham and Retford deaneries.

(ff 26r-27v)
Tuesday 30 November 1779. St Peter's Church, Nottingham.
Office causes, all deaneries.

(ff 28r-28v)
Tuesday 8 February 1780. St Peter's Church, Nottingham.
Office causes, all deaneries.

(ff 28v-30r)
Tuesday 11 April 1780. St Peter's Church, Nottingham.
Office causes, all deaneries.

(f 30r)
Friday 26 May 1780. St Peter's Church, Nottingham.
Office causes, Nottingham and Retford deaneries.

(ff 30v-32r)
Tuesday 25 July 1780. St Peter's Church, Nottingham.
Office causes, Nottingham, Retford and Bingham deaneries.

(f 32v)
Blank page.

(f 33r)
Tuesday 9 October 1780. St Peter's Church, Nottingham.
Business of electing Proctors to attend Convocation at York.

(f 33v)
Blank page.

(ff 34r-35r)
Tuesday 17 October 1780. St Peter's Church, Nottingham.
Office causes, Nottingham, Bingham and Retford deaneries.

(ff 35r-35v)
Tuesday 28 November 1780. St Peter's Church, Nottingham.
Office causes, Nottingham, Bingham and Retford deaneries.

(ff 36r-36v)
Tuesday 30 January 1781. St Peter's Church, Nottingham.
Office causes, Nottingham, Bingham and Retford deaneries.

(ff 36v-37r)
Tuesday 27 March 1781. St Peter's Church, Nottingham.
Office causes, Nottingham, Bingham and Retford deaneries.

(on loose sheet inserted between ff 36-37)
Tuesday 15 May 1781 and Tuesday 10 July. St Peter's Church, Nottingham. In front of Samuel Martin as Surrogate for Joseph Banks, Vicar-General and Official of the Archbishop of York, during his Ordinary Visitation.
No causes noted.

(ff 37r-38r)
Tuesday 6 November 1781. St Peter's Church, Nottingham.
Office causes, Nottingham, Bingham and Retford deaneries.

(f 38r)
Tuesday 4 December 1781. St Peter's Church, Nottingham.
One Office cause, Bingham deanery.

(f 38v)
Tuesday 5 February 1782. St Peter's Church, Nottingham.
One Office cause, Bingham deanery.

[unexplained gap in record]

(ff 39r-39v)
Tuesday 1 October 1782. St Peter's Church, Nottingham.
Office causes, Nottingham and Bingham deaneries.

(ff 39v-41r)
Tuesday 5 November 1782. St Peter's Church, Nottingham.
Office causes, all deaneries.

(ff 41r-41v)
Tuesday 3 December 1782. St Peter's Church, Nottingham.
Office causes, all deaneries.

(f 42r)
Tuesday 11 February 1783. St Peter's Church, Nottingham.
One Office cause, Retford deanery.

(ff 42r-42v)
Tuesday 8 April 1783. St Peter's Church, Nottingham.
Business of admitting William Caparn to the office of parish clerk in the parish of Newark upon Trent.

(f 43r)
Tuesday 27 May 1783. St Peter's Church, Nottingham.
No causes recorded.

(f 43r)
Tuesday 24 June 1783. St Peter's Church, Nottingham.
No causes recorded.

(ff 43v-44r)
Tuesday 29 July 1783. St Peter's Church, Nottingham.
Office causes, Nottingham and Bingham deaneries.

(ff 44r-44v)
Tuesday 7 October 1783. St Peter's Church, Nottingham.
Office causes, Nottingham and Bingham deaneries.

(f 44v)
Tuesday 25 November 1783. St Peter's Church, Nottingham.
One Office cause, Bingham deanery.

(f 45r)
13 December 1783.
Business of admitting John Bird to the office of parish clerk in the parish of Gedling.

(f 45v)
15 December 1783.
Business of admitting William Wyld to the office of parish clerk in the parish of St Nicholas in Nottingham.

(f 46r)
Tuesday 3 February 1784. St Peter's Church, Nottingham.
One Office cause, Bingham deanery.

(ff 46r-47r)
Tuesday 2 March 1784. St Peter's Church, Nottingham.
Office causes, Bingham and Nottingham deaneries.

(f 47v)
Monday 10 May 1784. St Peter's Church, Nottingham.
Business of electing Proctors to appear at Convocation in York.

(ff 48r-48v)
Tuesday 30 November 1784. St Peter's Church, Nottingham.
Office causes, Nottingham and Newark deaneries.

(ff 49r-49v)
Tuesday 1 February 1785. St Peter's Church, Nottingham.
Office causes, Nottingham and Newark deaneries.

(f 50r)
Tuesday 1 March 1785. St Peter's Church, Nottingham.
Office causes, Nottingham and Newark deaneries.

(f 50v)
23 February 1785. In the Registrar's Office in Nottingham.
One Office cause, Retford deanery.

(ff 50v-51r)
Tuesday 26 April 1785. St Peter's Church, Nottingham.
Office causes, Nottingham and Newark deaneries.

(ff 51v-52r)
Tuesday 14 June 1785. St Peter's Church, Nottingham.
Office causes, Nottingham and Newark deaneries.

(ff 52r-52v)
Tuesday 26 July 1785. St Peter's Church, Nottingham.
One Office cause, Newark deanery.

(ff 52v-53r)
Tuesday 27 September 1785. St Peter's Church, Nottingham.
One Office cause, Newark deanery.

(f 53r)
Tuesday 25 October 1785. St Peter's Church, Nottingham.
One Office cause, Newark deanery.

(ff 53v-54v)
Tuesday 22 November 1785. St Peter's Church, Nottingham.
Office causes, all deaneries.

(ff 55r-56r)
Tuesday 31 January 1786. St Peter's Church, Nottingham.
Office causes, all deaneries.

(ff 56r-56v)
Tuesday 21 February 1786. St Peter's Church, Nottingham.
Office causes, Nottingham and Newark deaneries.

(ff 57r-57v)
Tuesday 7 March 1786. St Peter's Church, Nottingham.
Office causes, Nottingham and Newark deaneries.

[gap caused by Inhibition during the Archbishop's Visitation]

(f 58r)
Tuesday 12 December 1786. St Peter's Church, Nottingham.
Office causes, Nottingham and Newark deaneries.

(ff 58v-59r)
Tuesday 23 January 1787. St Peter's Church, Nottingham.
Office causes, Nottingham and Newark deaneries.

(ff 59r-59v)
Tuesday 20 February 1787. St Peter's Church, Nottingham.
Office causes, Nottingham deanery.

(f 59v)
Tuesday 27 March 1787. St Peter's Church, Nottingham.
No causes recorded.

Tuesday 19 June 1787. St Peter's Church, Nottingham.
No causes recorded.

(f 60r)
Tuesday 17 July 1787. St Peter's Church, Nottingham.
No causes recorded.

[unexplained gap in record]

(ff 60v-61r)
21 June 1788.
Business of admitting Henry Day to the office of parish clerk in the parish of Attenborough, and of admitting Richard Satterthwaite to the office of parish clerk in the parish of St Peter in Nottingham.

(ff 61r-61v)
Tuesday 23 June 1789. St Peter's Church, Nottingham.
Office causes, Nottingham and Bingham deaneries.

(ff 61v-62r)
Tuesday 28 July 1789. St Peter's Church, Nottingham.
Office causes, Nottingham and Bingham deaneries.

(ff 62v-63r)
Tuesday 20 July 1790. St Peter's Church, Nottingham.
Business for electing Proctors to attend Convocation in York; and business of admitting Abraham Wright to the office of parish clerk of Laxton.

(ff 63r-64r)
Tuesday 28 September 1790. St Peter's Church, Nottingham.
Office causes, Nottingham and Retford deaneries.

(ff 64r-64v)
Tuesday 9 November 1790. St Peter's Church, Nottingham.
Office causes, Nottingham and Retford deaneries.

(ff 64v-65r)
Tuesday 8 February 1791. St Peter's Church, Nottingham.
Office causes, Nottingham, Retford and Bingham deaneries.

(f 65v)
Tuesday 22 March 1791. St Peter's Church, Nottingham.
Office causes, Nottingham and Bingham deaneries.

[gap caused by Inhibition during the Archbishop's Visitation]

(ff 65v-66r)
Tuesday 27 September 1791. St Peter's Church, Nottingham.
Office causes, Nottingham and Bingham deaneries.

(ff 66r-66v)
Tuesday 1 November 1791. St Peter's Church, Nottingham.
Office causes, Nottingham, Newark and Bingham deaneries.

(f 66v)
Tuesday 29 November 1791. St Peter's Church, Nottingham.
One Office cause, Nottingham deanery.

(f 67r)
Tuesday 27 March 1792. St Peter's Church, Nottingham.
One Office cause, Nottingham deanery.

Tuesday 15 May 1792. St Peter's Church, Nottingham.
One Office cause, Nottingham deanery.

(f 67v)
Tuesday 12 June 1792. St Peter's Church, Nottingham.
One Office cause, Nottingham deanery.

Tuesday 24 July 1792. St Peter's Church, Nottingham.
No causes recorded.

(f 68r)
Tuesday 2 October 1792. St Peter's Church, Nottingham.
No causes recorded.

Tuesday 11 December 1792. St Peter's Church, Nottingham.
No causes recorded.

(f 68v)
Tuesday 26 March 1793. St Peter's Church, Nottingham.
No causes recorded.

(f 69r)
Tuesday 23 April 1793. St Peter's Church, Nottingham.
No causes recorded.

27 April 1793.
Business of admitting Thomas Hart to the office of parish clerk in the parish of Bingham.

(ff 69v-70r)
Tuesday 18 June 1793. St Peter's Church, Nottingham.
Office causes, Nottingham, Bingham and Retford deaneries.

(ff 70r-70v)
Tuesday 23 July 1793. St Peter's Church, Nottingham.
Office causes, Nottingham and Bingham deaneries.

(ff 70v-71r)
Tuesday 1 October 1793. St Peter's Church, Nottingham.
Office causes, Nottingham deanery.

(ff 71r-71v)
Tuesday 10 December 1793. St Peter's Church, Nottingham.
Office causes, Nottingham and Bingham deaneries.

(f 71v)
Tuesday 28 January 1794. St Peter's Church, Nottingham.
One Office cause, Nottingham deanery.

(f 72r)
Tuesday 1 April 1794. St Peter's Church, Nottingham.
One Office cause, Nottingham deanery.

(ff 72r-72v)
Tuesday 27 May 1794. St Peter's Church, Nottingham.
Office causes, Nottingham deanery.

(f 72v)
Tuesday 15 July 1794. St Peter's Church, Nottingham.
No causes recorded.

Tuesday 30 September 1794. St Peter's Church, Nottingham.
No causes recorded.

(f 73r)
Tuesday 2 December 1794. St Peter's Church, Nottingham.
No causes recorded.

Tuesday 3 February 1795. St Peter's Church, Nottingham.
No causes recorded.

(f 73v)
Tuesday 21 April 1795. St Peter's Church, Nottingham.
No causes recorded.

Tuesday 2 June 1795. St Peter's Church, Nottingham.
No causes recorded.

Tuesday 28 July 1795. St Peter's Church, Nottingham.
No causes recorded.

(f 74r)
Tuesday 6 October 1795. St Peter's Church, Nottingham.
No causes recorded.

Tuesday 1 December 1795. St Peter's Church, Nottingham.
Office causes, Nottingham and Retford deaneries.

(f 74v)
16 October 1795.
Business of admitting Samuel Selby to the office of parish clerk in the parish of Balderton.

Tuesday 9 February 1796. St Peter's Church, Nottingham.
Office causes, Retford deanery.

(f 75r)
Tuesday 5 April 1796, and Tuesday 24 May 1796. St Peter's Church, Nottingham.
No causes recorded.

(f 75v)
Saturday 2 July 1796. St Peter's Church, Nottingham.
Business of electing Proctors to attend Convocation at York.

(ff 76r-76v)
Tuesday 26 July 1796, Tuesday 27 September 1796, and Tuesday 29 November 1796. St Peter's Church, Nottingham.
No causes recorded.

(f 76v)
Saturday 4 February 1797. St Peter's Church, Nottingham.
One Office cause against the rector of Bingham [this cause was also recorded in the Instance book; see AN/A 82/2, f. 70r].

(f 77r)
Tuesday 7 February 1797, and Tuesday 25 April 1797. St Peter's Church, Nottingham.
No business recorded.

(f 77v)
13 May 1797.
Business of admitting William Burton to the office of parish clerk in the parish of East Leake.

(ff 77v-82v)
Tuesday 27 June 1797, Tuesday 3 October 1797, Tuesday 6 February 1798, Tuesday 15 May 1798, Tuesday 17 July 1798, Tuesday 16 October 1798, Tuesday 29 January 1799, Tuesday 16 April 1799, Tuesday 16 July 1799, Tuesday 1 October 1799, Tuesday 28 January 1800, Tuesday 22 April 1800, Tuesday 15 July 1800, Tuesday 28 October 1800, Tuesday 27 January 1801, Tuesday 21 April 1801, Tuesday 21 July 1801, Tuesday 28 September 1801,
Tuesday 28 January 1802, Tuesday 10 May 1802, and Tuesday 21 June 1802. All at St Peter's Church, Nottingham.
No business recorded.

(f 83r)
Saturday 21 August 1802. St Peter's Church, Nottingham.
Business of electing Proctors to attend Convocation at York.

(ff 83v-87v)
Tuesday 26 October 1802, Monday 24 January 1803, Monday 16 May 1803, Monday 18 July 1803, Monday 17 October 1803, Monday 30 January 1804, Monday 16 April 1804, Monday 23 July 1804, Monday 29 October 1804, Monday 28 January 1805, Monday 13 May 1805, Monday 24 June 1804, Monday 28 October 1804, Monday 27 January 1805, Monday 12 May 1806, Monday 21 July 1806, and Monday 29 September 1806. All at St Peter's Church, Nottingham.
No business recorded.

(f 88r)
Saturday 13 December 1806. St Peter's Church, Nottingham.
Business of electing Proctors to attend Convocation at York.

(f 88v)
Monday 2 February 1807, and Monday 4 May 1807. St Peter's Church, Nottingham.
No business recorded.

(f 89r)
Saturday 20 June 1807. St Peter's Church, Nottingham.
Business of electing Proctors to attend Convocation at York.

(ff 89v-94r)
Monday 27 July 1807, Monday 2 November 1807, Monday 29 February 1808, Monday 23 May 1808, Monday 25 July 1808, Tuesday 1 November 1808, Monday 6 February 1809, Monday 1 May 1809, Monday 29 January 1810, Monday 28 May 1810, Monday 23 July 1810, Monday 1 October 1810, Monday 25 March 1811, Monday 5 August 1811, Monday 30 September 1811, Monday 3 February 1812, Monday 13 April 1812, Monday 22 June 1812, Monday 19 October 1812, and Monday 1 February 1813. All at St Peter's Church, Nottingham.
No business recorded.

(ff 94v-95r)
Blank pages.

(f 95v)
Saturday 21 November 1812. St Peter's Church, Nottingham.
Business of electing Proctors to attend Convocation at York.

(ff 96r-100v)
Monday 3 May 1813, Monday 21 June 1813, Monday 27 September 1813, Monday 17 January 1813, Monday 21 February 1814, Monday 25 April 1814, Tuesday 12 July 1814, Monday 28 November 1814, Monday 6 February 1814, Monday 24 April 1815, Monday 13 November 1815, Monday 29 January 1816, Monday 29 April 1816, Saturday 8 June 1816, Saturday 6 July 1816, Monday 30 September 1816, Monday 27 January 1817, Monday 17 February 1817, and Saturday 19 April 1817. St Peter's Church, Nottingham.
No business recorded.

(f 101r)
Saturday 25 July 1818. St Peter's Church, Nottingham.
Business of electing Proctors to attend Convocation at York.

(f 101v)
Blank page.

(f 102r)
Saturday 18 April 1820. St Peter's Church, Nottingham.
Business of electing Proctors to attend Convocation at York.

(ff 102-105v)
Blank pages.

(f 106r)
Saturday 7 February 1835. St Peter's Church, Nottingham.
Business of electing Proctors to attend Convocation at York.

(remainder of volume blank)
    Powered by CalmView© 2008-2017