Document ReferenceAN/A 2
TitleJournal of Office (Correction) causes, Apr. 1577-Oct. 1578, with a few Instance causes written at the back, Sep-Oct 1576
Date Of Creation28 September 1576-30 October 1578
Extent105 ff plus covers
LevelItem/file
Content DescriptionBound in a discarded medieval vellum manuscript in a 12th century hand, part of a treatise in Latin on astronomy, listing the appearance and composition of constellations of stars. Possibly a version the 'Liber Iparchi', a copy of which is held at the Bodleian Library, University of Oxford (MS. Rawl. G. 40). Manuscript is written in black ink, with coloured initials and numerals, and is similar in style to that used to bind Act Book AN/A 5.

Contemporary foliation up to f 49; remainder foliated by Manuscripts staff, September 2004.


(ff 1r-2r)
Tuesday 16 April 1577. Newark parish church.
Office causes from Bingham and Newark deaneries.

(ff 2v-4v)
Tuesday 30 April 1577. St Peter's Church, Nottingham.
Office causes from Nottingham and Bingham deaneries.

(ff 5r-6v)
Saturday 4 May 1577. Newark parish church.
Office causes from Newark deanery.

(ff 6v-9r)
Friday 10 May 1577. St Peter's Church, Nottingham.
Office causes from Nottingham and Bingham deaneries.

(ff 9r-19r)
Monday 20 May 1577. Mansfield parish church.
Office causes from Nottingham and Retford deaneries.

(ff 19v-25r)
Wednesday 5 June 1577. Newark parish church.
Office causes from Retford, Nottingham and Bingham deaneries.

(ff 25r-25v)
Thursday 6 June 1577. Hawton parish church.
One Office cause from Newark deanery.

(ff 25v-29r)
Friday 14 June 1577. East Retford parish church.
Office causes from Retford deanery.

(f 29v)
Saturday 15 June 1577. Ordsall parish church.
Record of compurgation on behalf of Robert Benson of Sutton-cum-Lound.

(ff 29v-34v)
Friday 21 June 1577. St Peter's Church, Nottingham.
Office causes from Nottingham, Retford and Bingham deaneries.

(ff 34v-37v)
Wednesday 26 June 1577. Newark parish church.
Office causes from Newark, Bingham, Retford and Nottingham deaneries.

(ff 37v-39r)
Tuesday 2 July 1577. St Peter's Church, Nottingham.
Office causes from Nottingham, Bingham and Retford deaneries.

(ff 39v-41r)
Monday 8 July 1577. St Peter's Church, Nottingham.
Office causes from Nottingham deanery.

(ff 41v-43v)
Friday 12 July 1577. East Retford parish church.
Office causes from Retford deanery.

(ff 43v-47v)
Tuesday 23 July 1577. St Peter's Church, Nottingham.
Office causes from Nottingham and Bingham deaneries.

(ff 47v-49r)
Tuesday 30 July 1577. Newark parish church.
Office causes from Retford and Newark deaneries.

(f 49v)
Thursday 8 August 1577. Hawton parish church.
Record of compurgation on behalf of Henry Lorte of South Leverton.

(ff 49v-50r)
Wednesday 18 September 1577. Newark parish church.
Office causes from Newark deanery.

(ff 50v-51v)
Tuesday 23 September 1577. Newark parish church.
Office causes from Retford and Bingham deaneries.

(ff 51v-54v)
Saturday 5 October 1577. St Peter's Church, Nottingham.
Office causes from Bingham and Nottingham deaneries.

(ff 54v-57r)
Thursday 17 October 1577. Newark parish church.
Office causes from Nottingham, Bingham, Newark and Retford deaneries.

(ff 57r-58v)
Thursday 24 October 1577. Newark parish church.
Office causes from Retford, Newark and Nottingham deaneries.

(ff 59r)
Saturday 2 November 1577. Newark parish church.
Office causes from Nottingham deanery.

(ff 59v-61r)
Saturday 9 November 1577. St Peter's Church, Nottingham.
Office causes from Nottingham, Bingham and Retford deaneries.

(ff 61v-64v)
Thursday 14 November 1577. Newark parish church.
Office causes from Retford, Bingham, Nottingham and Newark deaneries.

(ff 64v-68v)
Thursday 21 November 1577. Mansfield parish church.
Office causes from Retford, Newark and Nottingham deaneries.

(ff 68v-69v)
Friday 29 November 1577. Newark parish church.
Office causes from Retford, Newark and Nottingham deaneries.

(ff 69v-70r)
Tuesday 10 December 1577. Newark parish church.
Office causes from Nottingham and Newark deaneries.

(ff 70v-73r)
Saturday 14 December 1577. St Peter's Church, Nottingham.
Office causes from Nottingham and Bingham deaneries.

(ff 73v-74r)
Wednesday 18 December 1577. Newark parish church.
Office causes from Retford, Newark and Nottingham deaneries.

(ff 74v-76v)
Thursday 16 January 1577 [1578]. Newark parish church.
Office causes from Retford, Bingham, Nottingham and Newark deaneries.

(ff 76v-77v)
Friday 24 January 1577 [1578]. Newark parish church.
Office causes from Newark, Nottingham and Bingham deaneries.

(f 78r)
Saturday 19 April 1578. St Peter's Church, Nottingham.
Office causes from Nottingham deanery.

(f 78v)
Monday 28 April 1578. Newark parish church.
Office causes from Nottingham and Bingham deaneries.

(ff 79r-80r)
Tuesday 6 May 1578. Newark parish church.
Office causes from Bingham, Newark, Retford and Newark deaneries.

(ff 80v-82r)
Thursday 5 June 1578. Newark parish church.
Office causes from Newark, Bingham and Nottingham deaneries.

(ff 82v-83v)
Tuesday 17 June 1578. Newark parish church.
Office causes from Newark, Bingham, Retford and Nottingham deaneries.

(ff 84r-85r)
Wednesday 9 July 1578. Newark parish church.
Office causes from Nottingham, Retford and Bingham deaneries.

(ff 85v-87v)
Wednesday 23 July 1578. Newark parish church.
Office causes from Nottingham, Retford, Newark and Bingham deaneries.

(ff 88r-88v)
Saturday 20 September 1578. St Mary's Church, Nottingham.
Office causes from Bingham, Newark and Nottingham deaneries.

(ff 89r-92r)
Thursday 25 September 1578. No place given.
Office causes from Nottingham, Retford, Newark and Bingham deaneries.

(ff 92v-95v)
Friday 3 October 1578. Newark parish church.
Office causes from Nottingham, Retford, Newark and Bingham deaneries.

(ff 95v-98r)
Monday 13 October 1578. No place given.
Office causes from Nottingham, Bingham and Retford deaneries.

(ff 98v-101v)
Thursday 30 October 1578. Newark parish church.
Office causes from Nottingham, Retford, Bingham and Newark deaneries.

Entries written from the back of the volume, upside down:

(ff 103r, 103v, 104r and 104v)
Friday 28 September 1576. Newark parish church.
Instance causes.

(ff 102r and 102v)
Friday 12 October 1576. Newark parish church.
Instance causes.
LanguageLatin
Related MaterialFor fair copy Register of the same causes, Apr 1577-Jan 1577/8, see AN/A 3/1/4
    Powered by CalmView© 2008-2017